Community Awards

History Hero/Community Leadership Awards

The Historical Society of Princeton initiated a new awards program in 2010. Presented at our annual Bainbridge Club party in September, the History Hero Award and the Community Leadership Award are given to an individual and to an organization or business which has demonstrated tremendous, sustained commitment to furthering the goals of HSP. In 2010, HSP presented the first History Hero award to Carol N. Wojciechowicz and the first Community Leadership Award to Baxter Construction. Ms. Wojciechowicz has been an HSP volunteer and supporter since 1991, an active participant in all HSP fundraising activities and throughout the preservation and rehabilitation of the Updike Farmstead. Baxter Construction has provided outstanding support and dedication to HSP’s preservation initiatives, fundraising activities, and facilities.

In September, 2012, at the Society’s annual Bainbridge Club Party, PNC Bank/PNC Wealth Management was awarded the Community Leadership Award. Under the inspirational leadership of Christine Lokhammer, Wealth Management Director in Princeton, PNC has supported the Society’s mission, community events, and expansion of our facilities for many years. Representatives from the Princeton office and others have also provided sponsorship for area schools and organizations to send children to programs at our Updike Farmstead. The Trustees and staff are grateful for all of the community leadership that PNC has consistently demonstrated on our behalf.

The Trustees and Staff of HSP were delighted to grant the 2013 History Hero Award to Sean Murray at the Bainbridge Club Party in September. Mr. Murray is committed to local history and to advancing HSP’s mission. He has helped HSP build strong connections in the Princeton community, forging long-standing partnerships between HSP and each of the institutions where he has worked. A tireless advocate for history, Mr. Murray inspires others with his passion for the ways history can enrich our present-day lives and help us shape the future in a responsible, meaningful way. We are so proud to count him among our most steadfast supporters.